top of page

MENU

Our mission

Reaching climate neutrality through the use of energy storage in combination with innovative trading technology.

About us

Shaping the future with Terra One: pioneers of battery storage technology for renewable energies

Terra One is one of the pioneers in the field of large-scale battery storage in Germany and has been active in this market since summer 2023. Large-scale battery storage systems enable the continuous supply of renewable energies and are therefore a critical component of the energy transition. According to Fraunhofer ISE, Germany alone requires178 GWh of storage capacity by 2040 to achieve the federal government's climate targets, of which less than 2 GWh had been installed by the end of 2022. Terra One intends to play a leading role in achieving the expansion targets and has therefore already secured a pipeline of over 300 projects with a capacity of more than 20 GWh. The company pursues an innovative business model in which it controls the entire value chain from project development to construction, operation, marketing and financing. Efficient processes combined with experienced employees and the use of state-of-the-art software as well as cooperative collaboration with landowners, grid operators and municipalities are the key to the successful construction and operation of the projects. Through a revolutionary AI-based electricity trading platform, Terra One's batteries generate above-average yields at a fraction of the market costs, enabling an attractive return on investment. Terra One was founded by serial entrepreneurs Tony Schumacher and Thomas Antonioli in Berlin and currently employs a team of 20 specialists in software development, data science, energy trading, project development and financing, with a background in leading companies such as Macquarie Capital, Next Kraftwerke, Nextera Energy and OpenAI.

Vision

Terra One strives to achieve a significant turning point in energy supply with advanced energy storage solutions.

 

This includes the development of a more flexible and environmentally friendly electricity grid that is able to compensate for fluctuations in energy generation from renewable sources such as wind and solar.

Terra One has set itself the goal of playing an important role in the energy transition through its innovative approach and actively helping to shape a sustainable future.

Accelerating the energy transition

Enabling the expansion of renewable energy sources with innovative battery storage solutions.

Stabilization of the power grid

Development and operation of large-scale battery storage systems to ensure a reliable energy supply.

Technology and sustainability

Terra One uses advanced technologies in energy generation and storage to promote sustainable projects that actively contribute to climate neutrality.

Partnerships and Cooperations

Close cooperation with landowners, grid operators and municipalities to realize the energy transition.

What We Do

Meet The Team

CEO & Founder

Tony Schumacher

Tony is responsible for software development, data science and trading activities as well as overall business management. He is a software engineer with 10 years of professional experience in developing applications for the energy and financial services industries. Tony started programming at the age of 12 and is co-founder of Terra One, his second company.

CFO & Managing Director

Thomas Antonioli

Thomas is responsible for finance, fundraising, operations and the overall management of the company. Prior to his current role, Thomas spent 6 years as CFO at electronics rental platform Grover, where he was instrumental in building the company from zero to over €250 million in revenue, raising over €1.5 billion in funding and achieving a billion-dollar valuation. Thomas began his career in investment banking, where he gained experience in project and infrastructure finance.

Head of Acquisition

Marvin Neumann

Marvin is responsible for finding and securing suitable project locations. In this role, he leads a team of 5 employees. 

Marvin has more than 10 years of experience in business development and sales for software and technology companies.

Head of Development

Maximilian Bodewein

Maximilian secures grid access and building permits for Terra One's battery projects, coordinates with engineering firms, legal advisors and EPC companies and leads a team of 5 employees. With over 10 years of experience in business development & sales in the technology industry, he started his career in project development.

VP EPC

Charles Gilmour

Charles is responsible for the contracting, procurement and management of external EPC partners.

Charles studied chemical engineering and has more than a decade of experience in the renewable energy and grid-connected battery industry.

VP Corporate Finance

Timmy Köhler

Timmy is responsible for capital planning and procurement at corporate and project level as well as for relations with equity and debt investors. He has more than 10 years of experience in project and corporate finance and mergers & acquisitions, 8 of which have been focused on energy storage.

Lead Engineer AI

Matthias Plappert

Matthias is responsible for the specialized machine learning approach we use for automated trading. Before joining the ML team, he worked at Open AI as employee number 30 and was subsequently responsible for AI code generation at Github / Microsoft. He focuses on transformer architectures used for generating signals for the German intraday and day-ahead market.

Head of HR & Back Office

Jasmin Gorski

With extensive experience in back office and operational management, she supports the whole team. Jasmin masters the organization of complex tasks and efficient coordination between teams. She is responsible for managing administrative tasks such as managing documents, organizing meetings and ensuring office efficiency.

Our culture & values

At Terra One, we are characterized by innovation, sustainability and team spirit. We attach great importance to open communication, diversity and the promotion of individual talents in order to realize the vision of a climate-neutral future together. Respect, integrity and a passion for renewable energies are the cornerstones of our actions. Terra One is committed to promoting not only technological but also social sustainability in order to bring about positive change in the world.

CTO & Co-Founder

Malte Herberg

Malte is Tony's co-founder at Teclead Ventures and a long-time partner. He takes care of the infrastructure for Terra One's trading algorithms and machine learning. As Tony's sparring partner, he supports the algorithmic trading bots and the recruitment of engineering talent. Tony and Malte have been working together since their university studies in 2018.

bottom of page

top of page

MENU

Unsere Mission

Erreichung von Klimaneutrlität durch den Einsatz von Energiespeicher im Zusammenspiel mit innovativer Handelstechnologie.

Über Uns

Pioniere der
Batteriespeicher-Technologie

Terra One ist einer der Pioniere im Bereich Batteriegroßspeicher in Deutschland und in diesem Markt seit Sommer 2023 aktiv. Batteriegroßspeicher ermöglichen die durchgehende Versorgung mit Erneuerbaren Energien und sind daher eine kritische Komponente der Energiewende. Laut Fraunhofer ISE benötigt Deutschland bis 2040 178 GWh Speicherkapazität zur Erreichung der Klimaziele der Bundesregierung, von denen Stand Ende 2022 weniger als 2 GWh installiert waren. Terra One beabsichtigt, bei der Erreichung der Ausbauziele eine führende Rolle zu einzunehmen und hat sich aus diesem Grunde bereits heute eine Pipeline von über 300 Projekten mit einer Kapazität von über 20 GWh gesichert. Das Unternehmen verfolgt hierbei ein innovatives Geschäftsmodell bei dem es die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette von der Projektentwicklung über den Bau, Betrieb, Vermarktung und Finanzierung kontrolliert. Effiziente Prozesse kombiniert mit erfahrenen Mitarbeitern und dem Einsatz modernster Software sowie die kooperative Zusammenarbeit mit Landbesitzern, Netzbetreibern und Gemeinden sind hierbei der Schlüssel für den erfolgreichen Bau und Betrieb der Projekte. Durch eine revolutionäre KI-basierte Stromhandelsplattform erzielen Terra One’s Batterien überdurchschnittliche Erträge zu einem Bruchteil der marktüblichen Kosten und ermöglichen so eine attraktive Rendite. Terra One wurde von den Serienunternehmern Tony Schumacher und Thomas Antonioli in Berlin gegründet und beschäftigt derzeit ein Team von 20 Spezialisten aus den Bereichen Softwareentwicklung, Data Science, Energiehandel, Projektentwicklung und Finanzierung, mit einem Hintergrund in führenden Unternehmen wie Macquarie Capital, Next Kraftwerke, Nextera Energy und OpenAI.

Vision für die Zukunft

Terra One strebt danach, mit fortschrittlichen Energiespeicherlösungen einen bedeutsamen Wendepunkt in der Energieversorgung zu erreichen.

 

Dies umfasst die Entwicklung eines flexibleren und umweltfreundlicheren Stromnetzes, das in der Lage ist, Schwankungen in der Energieerzeugung aus erneuerbaren Quellen wie Wind und Sonne auszugleichen.

Terra One hat es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, durch ihre innovative Herangehensweise eine wichtige Rolle in der Energiewende zu spielen und aktiv an der Gestaltung einer nachhaltigen Zukunft mitzuwirken.

Beschleunigung der Energiewende

Mit innovativen Batteriespeicherlösungen erneuerbare Energien vorantrieben.

Stabilisierung des Stromnetzes

Entwicklung und Betrieb von Großbatteriespeichern zur Gewährleistung von zuverlässiger Energieversorgung.

Technologie und Nachhaltigkeit

Terra One nutzt fortschrittliche Technologien in der Energieerzeugung und -speicherung, um nachhaltige Projekte zu fördern, die aktiv zur Klimaneutralität beitragen.

Partnerschaften und Zusammenarbeit

Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen Stakeholdern zur Realisierung einer grünen Energiezukunft.

Was wir machen

Unser Team

CEO & Founder

Tony Schumacher

Tony ist verantwortlich für die Softwareentwicklung, Data Science und Trading-Aktivitäten sowie für das gesamte Unternehmensmanagement. Er ist Software-Ingenieur mit 10 Jahren Berufserfahrung in der Entwicklung von Anwendungen für die Energie- und Finanzdienstleistungsbranche. Tony begann bereits im Alter von 12 Jahren zu programmieren und ist Mitbegründer von Terra One, seinem zweiten Unternehmen.

CFO & Managing Director

Thomas Antonioli

Thomas ist verantwortlich für Finanzen, Fundraising, Betrieb und die Gesamtführung des Unternehmens. Vor seiner aktuellen Position  war Thomas 6 Jahre lang als CFO bei der Elektronik-Vermietplatform Grover aktiv, wo er massgeblich am Aufbau des Unternehmens von 0 auf  über 250 Millionen Euro Umsatz, der Aufnahme von über 1,5 Milliarden Euro an Finanzmitteln dem Erreichen einer Milliarden-Bewertung beteiligt war. Thomas begann seine Laufbahn im Investmentbanking, wo er Erfahrungen in den Bereichen Projekt- und Infrastrukturfinanzierung erwarb.

Head of Acquisition

Marvin Neumann

Marvin ist für die Suche nach geeigneten Projektstandorten und deren Sicherung zuständig. In dieser Funktion leitet er ein Team von 5 Mitarbeitern. 

Marvin hat mehr als 10 Jahre Erfahrung in der Geschäftsentwicklung und im Vertrieb für Software- und Technologieunternehmen.

Head of Development

Maximilian Bodewein

Maximilian sichert Netzzugang und Genehmigungen für Terra Ones Batterieprojekte, koordiniert mit Ingenieurbüros, Rechtsberatern und EPC-Firmen und führt ein Team von 5 Mitarbeitern. Mit über 10 Jahren Erfahrung im Bereich Business Development & Sales in der Technologiebranche begann er seine Laufbahn in der Projektentwicklung.

VP EPC

Charles Gilmour

Charles ist für die Auftragsvergabe, die Beschaffung und das Management externer EPC-Partner zuständig.
Charles hat Chemieingenieurwesen studiert und verfügt über mehr als ein Jahrzehnt Erfahrung in der Branche für erneuerbare Energien und netzgekoppelte Batterien.

VP Corporate Finance

Timmy Köhler

Timmy ist verantwortlich für die Kapitalbedarfsplanung und -beschaffung auf Unternehmens- und Projektebene sowie für die Beziehungen zu Eigen. und Fremdkapitalgebern. Er hat mehr als 10 Jahre Erfahrung in den Bereichen Projekt- und Unternehmensfinanzierung und Mergers & Acquisitions, davon 8 Jahre mit Fokus auf Energiespeicherung.

Lead Engineer AI

Matthias Plappert

Matthias ist verantwortlich für den spezialisierten Machine Learning Ansatz, den wir für den automatisierten Handel verwenden. Bevor er zum ML-Team stieß, arbeitete er bei Open AI als Mitarbeiter Nummer 30 und war anschließend bei Github / Microsoft für die KI-Codegenerierung zuständig. Er konzentriert sich auf Transformator-Architekturen, die für die Generierung von Signalen für den deutschen Intraday- und Day-Ahead-Markt verwendet werden.

Head of HR & Back Office

Jasmin Gorski

Mit umfassender Erfahrung im Backoffice und operativem Management unterstützt Sie das ganze Team. Jasmin beherrscht die Organisation komplexer Aufgaben und die effiziente Koordination zwischen Teams. Sie ist verantwortlich für die Steuerung administrativer Aufgaben, wie die Verwaltung von Dokumenten, die Organisation von Meetings und die Gewährleistung der Büroeffizienz.

Unsere Kultur & Werte

Bei Terra One sind wir durch Innovation, Nachhaltigkeit und Teamgeist geprägt. Wir legen großen Wert auf eine offene Kommunikation, Diversität und die Förderung individueller Talente, um gemeinsam die Vision einer klimaneutralen Zukunft zu realisieren. Respekt, Integrität und die Leidenschaft für erneuerbare Energien sind die Grundsteine unseres Handelns. Terra One setzt sich dafür ein, nicht nur technologische, sondern auch soziale Nachhaltigkeit zu fördern, um eine positive Veränderung in der Welt zu bewirken.

CTO & Co-Founder

Malte Herberg

Malte ist Tonys Mitgründer bei Teclead Ventures und langjähriger Partner. Er kümmert sich um die Infrastruktur für Terra Ones Handelsalgorithmen und maschinelles Lernen. Als Tonys Sparringspartner unterstützt er bei den algorithmischen Trading Bots und der Rekrutierung von Ingenieurtalenten. Tony und Malte arbeiten seit ihrem Universitätsstudium im Jahr 2018 zusammen.

bottom of page